New California law aimed at protecting utility workers from assault
Safety+Health Magazine
AI SUMMARY
California's new law S.B. 1330 makes assaulting a utility worker a criminal offense punishable by up to one year in jail and/or a $2,000 fine. The legislation was enacted following multiple shootings of utility workers in the state this year.
FROM THE ARTICLE
Sacramento, CA — Assaulting a utility worker in California now carries a penalty of up to one year in county jail and/or a fine of up to $2,000, under a new state law. Signed Sept. 27 by Gov. Gavin Newsom (D), S.B. 1330 was introduced in response to two shootings of utility workers this year…
This story was originally published by Safety+Health Magazine.
Read Full Story on Safety+Health MagazineRelated Stories
Workforce & LaborThe Hidden Cost of Traffic Citations for Construction FleetsForConstructionProsWorkforce & LaborABC Research Finds Multiskilled Crews Boost Construction ProductivityForConstructionProsWorkforce & LaborAll 50 States Had a Construction Unemployment Rate Below 10% in September; Maryland Posts Lowest Unemployment Rate EverConstruction ExecutiveAutonomous EquipmentPunch List: Granite wins infrastructure jobs, Hensel Phelps reaches Tampa airport milestoneConstruction Dive
